How to Compare CRM Free Plans: HubSpot, Zoho, Freshsales
Free CRM plans differ on six limits that decide when you start paying: users, records, email sends, pipelines, automation and the first paid tier. Read against HubSpot, Zoho CRM and Freshsales pricing pages, as of October 2026.
This article is a documentation review: it is based on the vendors' own published pages, checked on the date shown. We may earn a commission from some links; it never affects what we recommend.
Two CRM free plans are never free in the same way. One caps users, another caps records, a third caps the number of pipelines, and all three price the exit differently. The useful comparison is not which free plan has more features but which limit you will hit first and what it costs to cross it. This note builds a six-row method and fills it from the HubSpot, Zoho CRM and Freshsales pricing pages, read on October 10, 2026. Where a vendor publishes no figure, the row says so. For the billing models that take over once you pay, see per seat, per contact or per credit.
Count the users the free plan allows
HubSpot's pricing page states the free tools are free for up to 2 users, with no credit card and no time limit. Zoho CRM's page says the Free edition is free forever for 3 users. Freshsales names a free plan in its page description but publishes no user limit.
A user limit is the sharpest cliff of the three vendors. A third salesperson on HubSpot or a fourth on Zoho is not an overage; it is a plan change for the whole account.
So start the comparison by writing down your headcount in six months, not today. If it is 3, Zoho's free edition fits and HubSpot's does not, regardless of anything else on the page.
Count the records, because that is the second cliff
HubSpot's free tier allows 1,000 contacts, and separately up to 1 million records across other standard objects per account. Zoho's free edition page states up to 5,000 records across all modules, with 1 GB of file storage per organization.
The two are not directly comparable. HubSpot's 1,000 counts contacts only; Zoho's 5,000 counts leads, contacts, accounts and deals together. A 1,000-contact list with 2,000 deals and 500 accounts is inside HubSpot's limit and 3,500 into Zoho's.
Freshsales publishes no record limit on its pricing page. Its help center confirms the free plan exists and is activated from Admin Settings, but the limits tables in the excerpts we could read were truncated. Treat the limit as unpublished and check it inside a trial account.

Check the email sending allowance and the branding
HubSpot's free tier allows 2,000 marketing email sends per calendar month, with HubSpot branding, plus 1 personal meetings link, also branded. Live chat, landing pages, blog and website pages carry HubSpot branding on the free tier.
Zoho's free edition lists email marketing and up to 10 custom email templates, but the pricing page does not state a monthly send count. Mass email is listed as a Standard feature on Zoho's comparison page, which implies the free edition's email is one-to-one rather than bulk.
Freshsales publishes no send figure for the free plan on its pricing page; its help center says every plan, free or paid, has a daily sales email limit without showing the free number in the excerpt we could read.
If outbound email is the reason you want a CRM, HubSpot is the only one of the three that puts a free monthly number on the page. If branding on customer-facing email matters, budget for the first paid tier from day one.
Count pipelines, workflows and the other quiet caps
HubSpot's free tier includes 15 pipelines per account, 50 sales workflows with restricted triggers, 500 calling minutes and 1 phone number, 10 active and 1,000 static segments, 3 snippets, 3 email templates, and 10 dashboards with 50 reports each.
Zoho's free edition includes workflow automation for 5 routine tasks, standard reports, custom list views and page layouts, web forms, 10 data exports, and 5,000 API calls a day. Zoho's comparison page lists multiple pipelines, forecasting, custom fields and custom reports as Standard features, not free.
Freshsales' help center notes that downgrading to Growth or Free removes multiple pipelines, which tells you the free plan is single-pipeline. Beyond that, the free plan's caps are not published on the pricing page.
- Pipelines: HubSpot 15 free; Zoho one on free, multiple from Standard; Freshsales single on free
- Automation: HubSpot 50 restricted workflows; Zoho 5 tasks; Freshsales not published
- Custom fields: HubSpot not capped on the page; Zoho none on free, 10 per module on Standard; Freshsales not published
- Reports: HubSpot 10 dashboards x 50 reports; Zoho standard reports only; Freshsales not published
- Storage: Zoho 1 GB per organization; HubSpot and Freshsales not stated on the pricing page

Price the exit: what the first paid tier costs per user
The free plan's real price is the first paid tier, paid the month you cross a limit. HubSpot's pricing page shows the Starter Customer Platform at $20 per month per seat, with a starts at $7 figure under a Save up to 65% banner for new customers.
Zoho's comparison page lists Standard at $14 per user per month billed annually, or $20 monthly; Professional at $23 or $35; Enterprise at $40 or $50. Zoho's main pricing page showed us INR (₹800 per user per month for Standard), so the USD figures come from the comparison page.
Freshsales lists Growth at $9, Pro at $39 and Enterprise at $59 per user per month billed annually, with a Save 20% annual toggle and a 21-day trial on the full product. Growth adds a Kanban view, lifecycle stages, chat, email and phone, templates, custom fields and basic workflows.
Editorial calculation for a 3-person team leaving free: HubSpot Starter 3 x $20 = $60 a month at list ($21 at the $7 promotion); Zoho Standard 3 x $14 = $42 annual; Freshsales Growth 3 x $9 = $27 annual. Confirm seat minimums at checkout.
Put the six rows in one table and pick the cliff you can live with
Fill each row from the vendor's pricing page on the same day, and write not published where a vendor states no figure. A blank row is information: you will discover that limit after you have moved your data.
- Users: HubSpot 2, Zoho 3, Freshsales not published
- Records: HubSpot 1,000 contacts plus 1M other records; Zoho 5,000 across modules; Freshsales not published
- Email sends: HubSpot 2,000 a month branded; Zoho not stated; Freshsales not published
- Pipelines: HubSpot 15; Zoho 1; Freshsales 1
- Automation: HubSpot 50 restricted workflows; Zoho 5 tasks; Freshsales not published
- First paid tier: HubSpot $20 per seat list ($7 promotional); Zoho $14 annual or $20 monthly; Freshsales $9 annual
Reading the table, HubSpot's free plan is the most generous on features and tightest on users. Zoho's is most generous on users and tightest on records and automation. Freshsales has the cheapest exit at $9 but publishes least about its free tier.
Bottom line
Compare free CRM plans by the limit you hit first, not the feature list. A 2-person team with a long contact list goes furthest on HubSpot. A 3-person team under 5,000 records goes furthest on Zoho. A team that will pay anyway exits cheapest at Freshsales Growth, $9.
Whichever you choose, read the first paid tier as part of the free plan, because that is the number you will be paying within a year. Contact-based pricing in adjacent tools follows the same logic; see what contact limits mean in email marketing tools.
Frequently asked questions
Is HubSpot's free CRM really free forever?
HubSpot's pricing page says the free tools have no time limit, allow up to 2 users and 1,000 contacts, and include 2,000 branded email sends a month, as of October 10, 2026. The cost arrives when you need a third user or want branding removed, which starts the Starter tier.
How many users does Zoho CRM's free edition allow?
Three. Zoho's pricing page says the Free edition is free forever for 3 users, with up to 5,000 records across all modules and 1 GB of storage per organization. Multiple pipelines, mass email and custom fields begin on the Standard edition, listed at $14 per user per month on annual billing.
Does Freshsales have a free plan in 2026?
Freshsales' pricing page says a free plan is available, and its help center explains how to activate it from Admin Settings. The page does not publish the free plan's user, contact or email limits. Growth, the first paid tier, is listed at $9 per user per month billed annually.
Sources
- HubSpot pricing: Customer Platform (free tools limits, Starter price) (checked Oct 10, 2026)
- HubSpot pricing: Sales Hub (free tools and Starter limits) (checked Oct 10, 2026)
- Zoho CRM: Free CRM edition (3 users, 5,000 records, 1 GB) (checked Oct 10, 2026)
- Zoho CRM pricing (Free for 3 users; local-currency display) (checked Oct 10, 2026)
- Zoho CRM edition comparison (USD prices, features by edition) (checked Oct 10, 2026)
- Freshsales pricing (Growth $9, Pro $39, Enterprise $59; free plan named) (checked Oct 10, 2026)
- Freshsales help center search: free plan articles (checked Oct 10, 2026)